Do you own a Debenu Quick PDF Library version 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 or iSEDQuickPDF license? Upgrade to Debenu Quick PDF Library 14 today!
Get page count without open file |
Post Reply |
Author | |
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 15 Feb 21 at 6:11PM |
Hi, i need to know how much pages has a file without open it.
To extract a page without open the file is the function ExtractFilePages.
The function PageCount needs to open the file previously. is there any function that returns the pages number of a file without open it? Thanks & Best regards. |
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Juan :)
for some functions there are versions without have to load the pdf but regarding PageCount this isn't so. I understand that you want to know before really opening a file how large it is. An experimental idea: The pagecount is directly visible in the pdf-content. You can try it even with Notepad ;-) Below i've made few samples to show you how to detect these data. You'll find this data after: /N /Count and /Type/Catalog/Pages Cheers and welcome here, Ingo // here it's 5432 pages... %PDF-1.6 %âãÏÓ 55528 0 obj <</Linearized 1/L 110150031/O 55530/E 491335/N 5432/T 110109414/H [ 529 55325]>> endobj 55547 0 obj //here it's 5 pages... 5 0 obj << /Count 5 /Kids [ 9 0 R 19 0 R 25 0 R 37 0 R 50 0 R ] /Type /Pages >> endobj //here it's 2 pages... 1 0 obj <</Type/Catalog/Pages 2 0 R /AcroForm<</Fields[]>>>> endobj //here it's 2 pagesas well... 1 0 obj << /Type /Pages /Count 2 /Kids [72 0 R 83 0 R ] >> endobj //here it's 64 pages... 974 0 obj << /Linearized 1 /O 976 /H [ 931 1410 ] /L 5645529 /E 31260 /N 64 /T 5625930 >> endobj Edited by Ingo - 15 Feb 21 at 7:02PM |
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Ingo, thank you so much for answer as soon.
If not exists any function that returns the pages number without open the file, i will use LoadFromFile function and then the PageCount function. i will buy this sdk and i hope that in the next release comes with this function. Best regards |
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Juan :)
uuuups... I'm wrong. Never used it but here's the function you're asking for: https://www.debenu.com/docs/pdf_library_reference/DAGetPageCount.php This will feed your needs. DA means direct access without loading. What you really should avoid is mixing direct access with normal functions - this won't work. |
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Oleeeeeeeeee
Then i must use first DaOpenFile, this function returns a file handled than i can use with DaPageCount. Can i do so? QP = New PDFLibrary("DebenuPDFLibraryDLL1811.dll") If QP.UnlockKey(LicenseKey) <> 0 Then Dim fileHandle As Integer = QP.DAOpenFile(fileName, password) Dim pageCount As Integer = QP.DAPagecount(fileHandle) QP.DACloseFile(fileHandle) For Page As Integer = 1 To pageCount Dim Texts As String = QP.ExtractFilePageText(fileName, password, Page, 8) If Texts.Contains(searchvalue) Then QP.ExtractFilePages(fileName, "", OutputFileName, Page) End If Next
endif |
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Juan,
never mix DA and non-DA in one thread. After QP.DAClose... you should insert a QP.Free. Then a new QP = New... Then Unlock and then Extract and then Free again. Here'sa sample about using DA-functionality: https://www.debenu.com/kb/programmatically-render-pdf-files-in-windows-forms-with-net-and-c/ |
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Ingo,
I will do that. Thanks & Best Regards
|
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Ingo, i have finished the app, and runs ok in my computer in a executable file, but i need to put in our server like a webservice in IIS into a DLL, but the license not run in the DLL, UnlockKey function returns 0, where is the problem. I need to test in the server before i purchase it. Thanks & Best Regards
|
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
What is LastErrorCode telling after UnlockKey?
|
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Ingo,
UnlockKey returns 0 LastErrorCode returns 0 Now, i´m thinking, is possible that may be any problem with firewall? The unlockey connects to any of your server to check licensekey? Thanks & Best Regards
|
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi,
i'm working with a source version (so i need no unlock-function). I don't know how the server access willbe processed. Sorry... Perhaps here's another one knowing something about these procedures. This is only a forum from users and for users. BTW: Are you sure that your license key is still valid (30 days is the limit)? Did you get any textfiles with the key included? |
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
tfrost
Senior Member Joined: 06 Sep 10 Location: UK Status: Offline Points: 437 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I don't think that internet access is needed to validate the key. We use a license key in lots of different EXE and DLL files at many customer sites, some of them tightly secured. and nobody has reported any block or asked for how to get past a firewall. But I have never used a trial version; it might be different.
|
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi,
The license key is good because if i execute the executable file the unlock function returns 1, is the same code for dll and for exe. is there any possibility to get a temporary license key for pro version, not for trial? I sent an email to support, do you know other way to arrive to technical support? I attach a screen capture of licence key Thanks for your answers and best regards |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
the image not is, i can´t attach, but says this:
Trial period : Evaluation license valid until 14 March 2021. |
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
the trial version IS the pro-version... working with a testkey.
If the unlock function returns with 1 using an exe-file (don't know what exe you're meaning) then the license key is valid. If your test app doesn't work and unlock returns with 0 then there's something wrong in your sample code or the installation? There are several versions of the library... 32 and 64 bit... where is the library-dll? Perhaps you should post the code? |
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
HI ingo,
We are trying to create an asp webservice project with vs2017 and dll unmanaged, but we have problems with iis and unmanaged dll. You can see this problem in https://stackoverflow.com/questions/44455559/iis-and-external-unmanaged-dll https://amithegde.com/2015/06/fixing-unmanaged-dll-not-found-exception-on-asp-net-app.html then we try with activex dll, we register the 64bits activex dll, but vs2017 cant load in com references, but if we register 32bits we can load at com references. Then we try without load com, and importing the file in imports folder, "DebenuPDFLibraryAX1811.cs". The function Type.GetTypeFromProgID("DebenuPDFLibrary64AX1811.PDFLibrary") returns the type but when we call Activator.CreateInstance(comType) returns : No se pudo recuperar el generador de clases COM para el componente con CLSID {480150A0-2BD1-4C97-820B-009527B9E883} debido al siguiente error: 80040154 Clase no registrada (Excepction HRESULT: 0x80040154 (REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG)) Thanks & Best regards. |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
HI,
The real problem is with activex 64bits dll, there is a problem registering, because neither VS2017 nor IIS recognize the dll and gives an clsid error. We can`t do the project with 32bits because IIS works with 64bits. When we register the 64 bits activex dll, the administrador window of cmd returns "Dllregisterserver runs ok in DebenuPDFLibrary64AX1811.dll" but the activex object is not installed in windows. Thanks & Best Regards.
|
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Did you already search through forum and www.quickpdf.org?
I did it: Helpful posts from the community here: http://www.quickpdf.org/forum/using-the-activex-version-with-asp_topic1209.html http://www.quickpdf.org/forum/activex-to-new-activex_topic2413.html A short guide from a user long ago: Hey, I have quick PDF running on Windows Server 2008 without issue, using the the standard 32bit activeX DLL Here is how: - Open IIS Manager - Click on "Application Pools" - Click on the name of the application pool that is running the quick PDF website - Click "Advanced Settings" - Set "Enable 32-bit applications" to True Done! If you are not doing so already I find its best to run all sites under there own application pool. And at least: Getting started ActiveX Edition: http://www.debenu.com/wp-content/uploads/Foxit_Quick_PDF_Library_15_ActiveX_GettingStarted.pdf BTW: Each prob should have an own thread. Who shall find your actual prob at a thread with the title "...page count..."? ;-) Edited by Ingo - 09 Mar 21 at 5:55PM |
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
ergadita
Beginner Joined: 15 Feb 21 Location: Spain Status: Offline Points: 12 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
hi Ingo, i didn´t search because i didn´t know how do it. changing application pools to 32bits solve the problem. But which is the reason that the activex 64bits is not recognized by VS2017 or by IIS? but 32 bits is recognized. I want work with 64bits. There is a problem with 64bits activex dll. I will search for a thread about "problems registering 64bits activex dll", if i don´t found i will open it Thank you so much. |
|
Ingo
Moderator Group Joined: 29 Oct 05 Status: Offline Points: 3524 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
"a short guide from a user" doesn't help?
See "enable application"... windows wants 64 bit in a special directory and 32 bit in another special directory. I think in VS you can do the settings for 64 and 32 bit as well. Think your settings aren't clear but mixed? If you put the 32-bit-dll and it works it won't be enough to replace the 32-bit-dll with the 64-bit-dll... Starting point for all QuickPDF-ressources: www.QuickPDF.org Search in the whole forum: At the top, right "search -> advanced search". Search in the whole ressources: https://www.debenu.com/docs/pdf_library_reference/Search.php Edited by Ingo - 09 Mar 21 at 7:18PM |
|
Cheers,
Ingo |
|
Post Reply | |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |
Copyright © 2017 Debenu. Debenu Quick PDF Library is a PDF SDK. All rights reserved. About — Contact — Blog — Support — Online Store